Excited fans from both Helena and Missoula filled the stands as the two teams prepared to face-off for the fourth time in two weeks. The Bighorns lead the series 3-0 and home to clinch the AWHL Championship title. Helena struck first with a goal by Beau Ricketts just four minutes into the game. Missoula quickly tied up the game at 1-1 just four minutes later. With just two minutes left in the first period, Missoula took the lead on a power play opportunity. Helena wasn’t done however Wyatt Winfield tied up the score again fifty-nine seconds later. 

Helena regained the lead four-and-a-half minutes into the second period with a goal from defenseman Balazs Goz. Teammate Ben Henne opened the lead to two with a goal of his own three minutes later. Missoula answered with a goal of their own just a minute later on another power play opportunity. Helena regained their two goal lead almost sixteen minutes into the period when Bighorns forward Theo Campe scored a shorthanded goal. 

Campe scored his second goal of the evening a little over two minutes into the third period to give the Bighorns a three point lead. Bighorns captain Trevor Tracy scored the final goal of the evening a little under the five minute mark to give the Bighorns a 7-3 win over the Maulers. The win meant that the Bighorns swept the Maulers and won the 2012 AWHL championship title. 

The Bighorns would like to thank all of our friends, family and corporate partners for a great season. We look forward to having another great season this fall. Don’t forget to reserve your season tickets early and find other Bighorns merchandise at www.HelenaBighorns.comor by calling (406) 457-2817.

The Bighorns will be back in action in September for the DJ’s Automotive pre-season tournament. Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date on everything Bighorns.