HELENA, MT – The Helena Bighorns open the first round of the AWHL playoffs against the rival Missoula Maulers, Friday at the Helena Ice Arena, Bighorns’ President, Mike Butters announced today.

The Bighorns (44-2-2-90 pts.) captured the AWHL regular season title but that has little to do with tomorrow night’s game, says Bighorns Head Coach, Scott Cunningham. “The regular season is over and the slate is wiped clean. We will have to bring our game to another level to be successful in the post season.”

Missoula finished the regular season in 4th place with a record of 28-18-1-1 for 58 points.

“Playoffs are always the best time to see the Bighorns in action,” quipped Bighorns President, Mike Butters. “We are expecting a good playoff crowd and will need our supporters to be vocal at the game.” Butters added, “The Helena Ice Arena is the loudest building in the AWHL. It is an electric place to be and I hope our town gets behind us in our playoff push.”

The Best-Of-5 series is as follows:

GAME 1: Friday, March 8 – Missoula @ Helena 7:35PM Helena Ice Arena

GAME 2: Saturday, March 9 – Helena @ Missoula 7:30PM Glacier Ice Arena

GAME 3: Friday, March 15 – Missoula @ Helena 7:35PM Helena Ice Arena

GAME 4: Saturday, March 16 – Helena @ Missoula 7:30PM Glacier Ice Arena*

GAME 5: Sunday, March 17 – Missoula @ Helena 5:35PM Helena Ice Arena*

*if necessary


Tickets are now on sale at the Helena Ice Arena or by contacting the Helena Bighorns Box Office at 457-2817.



The AWHL announced its 2013 All Stars and 6 Bighorns made the selections. Forwards Ben Henne and Christian Axelsson and Ben Henne, Defensemen Brandon Rumble and Logan Hawgood and goaltender Jett Salinas made the 1st team. Defenseman John Petersson was selected to the 2nd team.

You can see the entire Bighorns playoff schedule at and season tickets are available for purchase for the 2013-14 season.